War of 1812
Find a listing
The Goulbourn Museum tells the story of Ottawa’s oldest military settlement. It is home to interactive and hands-on exhibitions such as The 100th Regiment of Foot – about the soldiers who settled Goulbourn Township in 1818 after the War of 1812-1814; The Village Store where kids can dress up as pioneers & shop or barter for supplies; as well as exhibits about early Goulbourn settlers, the communities in the Township, and local services.
Home of Canada’s Most Famous Heroine During the war of 1812, a brave woman set out on a perilous journey in the service of her country, and stepped forever into the history and folklore of Niagara. Travel back in time to her lovingly restored homestead and be enchanted by stories of her adventures and surroundings as interpreted by authentically costumed guides. Guided tours are provided by qualified costumed interpreters, providing information about this historic house and the history of the area. Light refreshments, ice cream, Laura Secord chocolates and a selection of quality souvenirs are available. Seasonal – Please check www.niagaraparks.com for hours of operation.
The Best Hands-on Museum in Upper Canada The restored home of rebel publisher William Lyon Mackenzie reveals 500 years of printing technology, amid the authentic ambiance of a period print shop. Rarest in the museum’s collection is the Louis Roy Press, oldest in Canada and one of the few original wooden presses remaining in the world! A hands-on experience is encouraged with a working linotype and 8 operating heritage presses. A joint venture was established in 1990 between The Niagara Parks Commission and a volunteer non-profit Printery Committee concerned with the preservation of printing equipment. Seasonal – Please check www.niagaraparks.com for hours of operation.
For more than two centuries McFarland House has stood as a monument to the impeccable manners, good taste and gracious living that epitomizes Niagara-on-the-Lake. Experience a taste of Georgian style and pace. Qualified costumed interpreters provide guided tours of this historic home throughout the day. Come visit this gem – built in 1800, the House is the oldest property owned by The Niagara Parks Commission. Located in a picturesque park setting with playground facilities and a baseball diamond, the House is adjacent to the Niagara River Recreation Trail. McFarland Park also offers a covered picnic pavilion which seats approximately 250 people, with water and washroom facilities nearby. In preparation for the Bicentennial of the War of 1812 McFarland House has undergone some much needed renovations since last season. This is the first occasion that such large scale improvements have been made to the property. The house was last renovated in 1955 before the site opened to the public in the spring of 1959. We are very proud of these enhancements to our facilities which will allow us to better serve our guests. We have built a new historically inspired conservatory, created modern washrooms, and drastically renovated the interior spaces within the back wing of the home to make the property more accessible and welcoming for all who come to visit. McFarland House will be open from Saturday May 12 through Monday September 3 (Labour Day), 7 days a week, 12:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Canada’s Bloodiest Battlefield The year is 1812. You’re far from home in the unknown wilds of Upper Canada. The place is Fort Erie and war is in the air. All around you are the exciting sights and sounds of men preparing for battle. Step back into a time of red coats, black powder and gray fortress walls. Over 200 years of living history resides within, at Old Fort Erie. Seasonal – Please check www.niagaraparks.com for hours of operation.