museum

Her Majesty's Royal Chapel of the Mohawks
Featured
(0)
Category:
Address: 301 Mohawk St., Brantford, Ontario, Canada, N3T 5L9

Her Majesty’s Royal Chapel of the Mohawks is the last surviving structure of the original Mohawk Village settlement of 1784 that was settled by Joseph Brant in what is now known as Brantford. Mohawk Chapel, for short, was built in 1785 and today is the oldest surviving church in Ontario and one of three designated Royal Chapel’s outside of the UK. Mohawk Chapel features eight beautiful handcrafted stained-glass windows that tell the story of the Haudenosaunee peoples history. Mohawk Chapel’s Tour Season runs from May until October, open Tuesday to Sunday from 10am until 3pm. In our Off Season we take bookings such as tours, rentals, meetings, events, weddings and more by appointment only. Contact us: coordinator@mohawkchapel.cacreate new email

(0)
Category:
Address: 125 Water Street, Gananoque, Ontario, Canada, K7G 3E3

Our museum tells the story of Gananoque’s varied history, from glaciers and muskies to pirates and picnickers! Experience 10,000 years of 1000 Islands history, including exhibits on the: 1000 Islands ecosystem, Indigenous heritage, early settlers, military leaders, and the rich and famous of the Golden Era. Discover the place where past meets present, and relax on our waterfront veranda or browse our unique gift shop.

(0)
Category:
Address: 35 Madawaska Street, Arnprior, Ontario, Canada, K7S 1R6

Situated in an historic Thomas Fuller Post Office, the museum is a cornucopia of artefacts and information about Arnprior and the surrounding area. Exhibits about the logging industry, the visit of the Prince of Wales in 1860 and the railway makes this a must see for all cyclists. We’re close to restaurants and the beach which makes this an ideal destination. In 2013 we are celebrating the 400th anniversary of Champlain’s travels up the Ottawa River and we are fortunate to have Champlain’s astrolabe on exhibit.

(0)
Category:
Address: 35 Madawaska Street, Arnprior, Ontario, Canada, K7S 1R6

Situated in an historic Thomas Fuller Post Office, the museum is a cornucopia of artefacts and information about Arnprior and the surrounding area. Exhibits about the logging industry, the visit of the Prince of Wales in 1860 and the railway makes this a must see for all cyclists. We’re close to restaurants and the beach which makes this an ideal destination. In 2013 we are celebrating the 400th anniversary of Champlain’s travels up the Ottawa River and we are fortunate to have Champlain’s astrolabe on exhibit.

(1)
Category:
Address: 29424 Lakeview Line, Wallacetown, Ontario, Canada, N0L 2M0

The Backus-Page House Museum is located within the grounds of the John E. Pearce Provincial Park, situated within a restored Georgian style house which was constructed in 1850. It is one of the first brick homes built in what would eventually become Dunwich Township. The house was commissioned by Andrew and Mary Jane Backus. The Backus family was one of several families that had obtained land from Colonel Thomas Talbot and settled in the area which quickly came to be known as Little Ireland (a namesake due to the Irish ancestry of the settlers). The property that Andrew built his house on was given to him by his grandmother, Mary Storey, who received her original land grant in 1809. Upon the death of Andrew Backus in 1865 the estate along with what remained of the original land grant allotted to Mary Storey was bequeathed to his son, Andrew Storey Backus. Andrew Storey Backus sold the northern portion of that bequest, where in the house was located, to Robert Kennedy of Leskinfere Gorey, Co. Wexford, Ireland. Mr. Kennedy only owned the property 2 or 3 years before he returned to Ireland. The Backus-Page House and property was obtained by Jonas Page in 1925. The Page family had settled in the area in 1845 and maintained property further up Lakeview Line. Members of the Page family resided on the estate and farmed the property for over 40 years. The house underwent a number of physical changes as it aged, moving it away from its original 1850’s state. Morley and Grace Page were the last of the Pages to live on the farm and they sold it to the Ministry of Natural Resources in 1968. The Ministry of Natural Resources currently retains ownership of the Backus-Page House. The Ministry has entered into a lease agreement with the Tyrconnell Heritage Society. The society was incorporated in 1994 with the express purpose of restoring the house and property to its 1850’s condition. In 1998 the society undertook a restoration of the property, renamed the house in tribute to both its longtime owners and undertook a mandate of preservation and historical education regarding the estate and the Talbot Settlement in general.

Battlefield House Museum & Park
(0)
Category:
Address: 77 King Street West, Stoney Creek, Ontario, Canada, L8G 1H9

Visit this early 19th century homestead once home to the Gage family. The Gages worked the land with their ten children and became a strong voice in the hamlet of Stoney Creek. During the War of 1812, the family retreated to their cellar as the Battle of Stoney Creek raged outside. The 100-foot-high Battlefield Monument stands as a symbol of peace and commemorates those soldiers who died on June 6, 1813. Nestled under the scenic Niagara Escarpment, this historic site encompasses 32 acres of parkland divided by Battlefield Creek.

(0)
Category:
Address: 284 Simcoe Street, Beaverton, Ontario, Canada, L0K 1A0

Old stone jail, settler’s log house and working man’s Victorian brick house portray settlers’ life circa 1850-1900. Gift Shop.

(0)
Address: 2100 Cabot St., Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, K1H 6K1

Visit the historic estate of one of Ottawa’s founding families and spend the day enjoying one of our special  events or programs, exploring the exhibitions with interactive and kid-friendly activities, or discovering the beauty of our well-preserved parkland. The museum is open during the summer on Wednesdays to Sundays, from 10 am to 5 pm.

The museum’s food service is known for both its quality and affordability. Specializing in refreshments and baked goods made from scratch and served overlooking heritage gardens, our food service is a unique addition to the site. The Tea on the Lawn is served during the summer on Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, and Sundays, from 11 am until 4 pm, rain or shine. Because we use the freshest ingredients possible, it’s best to contact the museum at 613-247-4830 for the daily menu. **Reservations are recommended to avoid disappointment.**

————–

Visitez le domaine historique de l’une des familles fondatrices d’Ottawa et passez une journée à profiter de nos programmes spéciaux, à explorer nos expositions remplies d’activités interactives amusantes pour les enfants et à découvrir la beauté de nos espaces verts bien préservés. Le musée est ouvert pendant l’été les mercredis aux dimanches, de 10 h à 17 h. 

Les services alimentaires du domaine sont reconnus à la fois pour leur qualité et leur prix abordable. Ceux-ci se spécialisent dans les rafraîchissements et les pâtisseries maison, servis dans un espace surplombant les jardins patrimoniaux; il s’agit d’une caractéristique unique du site. Le thé sur la pelouse est servi pendant l’été les mercredis, jeudis, vendredis et dimanches de 11 h à 16 h, beau temps, mauvais temps. Puisque nous utilisons les ingrédients les plus frais possible, nous vous recommandons de communiquer avec le musée au 613 247 4830 pour vérifier le menu du jour. **Nous vous invitons également à réserver votre place pour éviter toute déception.**

 

(0)
Category:
Address: 177 King Street East, Chatham, Ontario, Canada, N7M3N1

The Chatham-Kent Black Historical Society is the home of the Black Mecca Museum. Telling the story of Black Family experiences in Chatham-Kent from the Underground Railroad to Modern Times. 

(0)
Category:
Address: 2 Bay Street, Parry Sound, Ontario, Canada, P2A 1S3

The Charles W. Stockey Centre for the Performing Arts is located in Parry Sound, Ontario, Canada. It houses a 480-seat Festival Performance Hall and the Bobby Orr Hall of Fame. The Stockey Centre sits on a 3.5-acre waterfront site overlooking beautiful Georgian Bay. The building opened in July 2003 and runs year-round, presenting artists of excellence and celebrating athletes of excellence. The Bobby Orr Hall of Fame is an interactive hockey museum with a wide variety of photos, memorabilia and artifacts about Bobby Orr, who was born in Parry Sound. Exhibits include Orr’s NHL rings, a number of his trophies and awards, some of the jerseys he played in, a pictorial history of his career and a number of interactive games and activities related to hockey. The Bobby Orr Hall of Fame also hosts exhibits about other exceptional athletes with ties to Parry Sound. The Festival Performance Hall is constructed out of the area’s natural stone and indigenous trees. It has stunning acoustics as it was designed as a home for the Festival of the Sound, a world renowned festival of chamber and classical music which runs from mid-July to mid-August each year. Performances of all genres are presented in the Performance Hall during the rest of the year including music of all types (pop, rock, folk, blues, jazz, country, chamber, classical and world music), theatre, contemporary dance, comedy, literary readings, performances for children and community events. The Gift Shop is located in the Lobby and features a unique line of souvenirs from both the Bobby Orr Hall of Fame and the Festival Performance Hall.

(0)
Category:
Address: 33 Victoria St, Box 180, Southampton, ON, Canada, N0H2L0

Where Imagination is Timeless! Visit the Bruce County Museum & Cultural Centre to explore the long and proud history of the County beginning in the First Nations gallery, through pioneer times to present day. Journey through thousands of years of natural and human history; come face-to-face with a baby mammoth, meet the shopkeeper while exploring Bevan’s General Store, or play in our technology lab. Explore the rich marine history of Bruce County’s lighthouses, shipwrecks and fishing industry; board HMS General Hunter, an 1812 battleship replica, where an exciting virtual experience awaits as you shoot the cannon to defeat the enemy. Step into the trenches of WWI and follow the life of a Bruce County soldier through the war. Discover all this and more!

Callander Bay Heritage Museum & Alex Dufresne Gallery
(0)
Category:
Address: 107 Lansdowne St., Callander, Ontario, Canada, P0H 1H0

Callander Bay Heritage Museum & Alex Dufresne Gallery celebrate Callander’s rich cultural heritage and host several art exhibitions every year, all in the house and practice of the former doctor to the Dionne Quintuplets, Dr Allan Roy Dafoe. Our eight-rooms feature items related to the sisters and Dr. Dafoe’s medical practice, and explore the town’s shipping and logging history. Also included in the collection are hockey jerseys belonging to Philadelphia Flyer’s Bill Barber and a turn-of-the-century barber shop. The adjacent Alex Dufresne Gallery shares the same entrance as the museum, and hosts several exhibitions every year featuring local artists.

(0)
Category:
Address: 901 Prince of Wales drive, OTTAWA, Ontario, Canada, K2C 36R

A unique family learning adventure awaits you! This fresh-air experience will awaken your senses as you discover the fascinating world of agriculture. Canada’s unique agricultural heritage and future is featured at the Museum. Explore the sights and sounds of farm life through animals, exhibitions, treasures from the collection, hands-on demonstrations, and delicious foods. The Museum is located on the Central Experimental Farm, a 425-hectare crop research station and National Historic Site. Visit the animal barns and explore the captivating exhibitions. With a pinch of history and a dash of myth busting, the newest exhibition Food Preservation: The Science You Eat highlights the role science plays in delaying food decay and keeping food nutritious and safe from farm to fork. See renewable energy in action in the Museum’s exhibition Energy Park: Nature at Work, try to spot the queen bee in the live observation hive in Taking Care of Beesness, and explore Tractors, where you can even climb inside a farmer’s “office in the field.”

(0)
Category:
Address: 1 Vimy Place, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, K1A 0M8

Canada’s rich military history is showcased through artifacts, personal stories, artwork, photos and interactive presentations. Tour the extensive permanent exhibitions and expand your knowledge of the conflicts that shaped Canada, Canadians and the world. Rest and reflect in Memorial Hall. Discover the Museum’s fascinating architectural theme. And chat with a veteran to let history come alive.

(0)
Category:
Address: 267 Edmund Street, Carleton Place, ON, Canada, K7C 3E8

Erected in 1872, this heritage designated building served the community of Carleton Place as the Town Hall and lock-up until 1879, and as Victoria School for 90 years until 1969. The museum is run by the Carleton Place and Beckwith Historical Society with assistance from hte Town of Carleton pLace and the Township of Beckwith.

Opening as the Victoria School Museum in 1985, the name was changed in 2011 to relfect the scope of its collection and its audience.

(0)
Category:
Address: 401 Riverside Drive West, Windsor, ON, Canada, N9A 7J1

The Chimczuk Museum is a premier museum destination that houses permanent exhibits on the history of the Windsor area, the Original People’s Culture and Legacy, and the development of The City of Windsor. The site also features a state-of-the-art Children’s Gallery and Learning Space with opportunities for hands-on exploration for our young and young at heart, two galleries for travelling and temporary exhibitions, and a gift shop with fantastic souvenirs for guests of all ages.

(0)
Category:
Address: 1155 1st Avenue West, Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada, N4K4K8

The Community Waterfront Heritage Centre, Also known as the the Marine and Rail Museum is housed in the former Canadian National Railway Station. The museum features artefacts, models, and photos of Owen Sound’s rich marine and rail history. They can be found along the waterfront on 1st Avenue West in Owen Sound.

(0)
Category:
Address: 2940 Old Montreal Rd., Cumberland, Ontario, Canada, K4C 1G3

Unique in the nation’s capital, Cumberland Heritage Village Museum provides an immersive, fun, and educational experience that showcases life in the 1920s and 30s with dozens of heritage and true-to-the-era reproduction buildings – including a working sawmill and blacksmith forge – heritage breed farm animals, people in costume, vintage tractor-pulled wagon rides, and so much more. The museum is open during the summer on Wednesdays to Sundays, from 10 am to 5 pm.

**Please note that admission is required to use the washrooms and drinking water on site.

———

Le Musée-village du patrimoine de Cumberland offre une occasion unique de vivre une expérience amusante et éducative dans la capitale nationale qui vous plongera dans la vie des années 1920 et 1930. Venez contempler les dizaines d’édifices patrimoniaux et de reproductions représentatives de l’époque, y compris une scierie et une forge qui fonctionnent encore ainsi que les animaux de races patrimoniales, et profitez-en pour rencontrer les personnages costumés, faire des tours de chariots tirés par des tracteurs de l’époque, et bien plus encore. Le musée est ouvert pendant l’été les mercredis aux dimanches, de 10 h à 17 h. 

**Veuillez noter que les frais d’admission sont requises afin d’utiliser les salles de bain et l’eau potable.

 

(0)
Category:
Address: 3929 Carp Road, Carp, ON, Canada, K0A 1L0

The Diefenbunker was commissioned by Prime Minister John Diefenbaker in 1959, as part of his government’s reaction to escalating tensions in the Cold War. The purpose of the bunker was to house key members of the government and military in the event of a nuclear attack on Canada. The safety of its nuclear roof would allow the Canadian government to operate safely underground for 30 days in order to assist with the governance and rebuilding of the country. A series of Emergency Government Headquarters bunkers were built across Canada and, as the largest, the federal government bunker would come to be known as the Central Emergency Government Headquarters (CEGHQ Carp).

The site was completed and began operation in 1961, and remained in continuous operation until it was decommissioned in 1994. During those 32 years, it was also Canadian Forces Station (CFS) Carp, with a staff of 100-150 people and a 24-hour shift rotation. It was the site of some of Canada’s most top-secret communications throughout the Cold War. At all times during its operation, the cupboards and pantries were stocked with enough fresh food and rations to feed 535 people for 30 days and the building was prepared to go into lockdown at any moment.

The Diefenbunker was given National Historic Site status in 1994, and CFS Carp was closed the same year. The building remained empty until the foundation of the museum in 1997.

With the dedication of a group of volunteers, many of whom were former employees of the bunker, the Diefenbunker incorporated as Diefenbunker: Canada’s Cold War Museum in 1998, a private, non-profit and registered charity. In 1999, the Diefenbunker Museum was open to the public year-round, operated entirely by volunteers.

In 2010, the Diefenbunker underwent a massive capital campaign to retrofit the building’s fire systems. Because of the unique design of the building, fire code had limited it to a capacity of 60 people. After the building retrofit, the Diefenbunker was able to increase its capacity to 460 people. At this point, the Museum began to offer self-guided tours, audio guides, large events, rentals, and increased operating hours.

The Diefenbunker is still a private, non-profit and a registered charity, with a team of over 50 dedicated volunteers. It is operated year-round by a full-time staff of eight, and a governing Board of Directors.