Find a listing
Opening in 1952 at this location, the Brant Museum & Archives has been entertaining audiences with stories of Brant County History. Our permanent exhibits showcase Brantford store fronts, industry, manufacturers, and pioneer kitchen. Additional temporary exhibits rotate frequently to ensure that there is always something new to see. You may also book an appointment to access documents in the archives.
Built in 1857, Edinburgh Square Heritage & Cultural Centre, formerly the Caledonia Town Hall and Lock-Up, was designed by noted architect John Turner. Edinburgh Square Heritage & Cultural Centre presents the history of Caledonia through educational and outreach activities and a number of permanent & temporary exhibits. Of particular note is the original 1857 jail cell and a permanent display highlighting the gypsum mining industry along the Grand River. Local history or family genealogy may be researched in the Gillespie Clark Reference Library. The library contains books, files and documents relating to Caledonia’s rich history. The archive holds a collection of surviving editions of the Grand River Sachem from 1856 to the present day.
Grey Roots Museum & Archives is a multi-faceted attraction that preserves and promotes the cultural and heritage traditions of Grey County. Innovative and informative interpretive programs and demonstrations, rotating exhibits, a heritage village, archival resources and superior customer service create an exciting and educational visitor experience.
Overlooking the Grand River, under a canopy of majestic oak trees in the Courthouse Park, the Haldimand County Museum and Archives preserves and presents Haldimand’s rich and diverse heritage for the public. Our gallery offers something fascinating and new, with ever-changing historical exhibits.
Also on-site is an authentic log cabin, dating to 1835. Originally located on the Old Plank Road near Caledonia, the cabin was once home to the Nicholas Family, early settlers to the area. Now the building is a perfect setting for interpreting the struggles and rewards of pioneer life. The archives are a valuable resource for researchers and hobbyists alike, with an extensive collection of family histories, local histories, newspapers, church records, cemetery transcripts, census records, some birth, marriage and death records, and much more. Microfiche/microfilm readers and Internet access are available to visitors to maximize the response to their research queries. If unable to visit, museum staff can be hired to do the research! Special events and programs are held year-round at the museum, making it an ideal destination for family outings whether traveling from near or far. Contact the museum for more details. And finally, the beautiful grounds make a lovely spot for a picnic, complete with picnic tables and scenic surroundings. We hope to see you soon!
A museum and archive dedicated to preserving and promoting the unique history and heritage of the former Town of Hespeler. Operated by The Company of Neighbours, an Ontario registered not-for-profit organization; we are completely powered by volunteers. Situated in the century old Hespeler Town Hall, we are open Saturdays and Mondays 8 am to noon and Tuesdays to Fridays 8 am to 4 pm.
The Peel Art Gallery, Museum and Archives is a place to explore and learn about Peel Region’s culture and heritage. PAMA shares the story of Peel by providing opportunities for exploring the past, discussing creativity and connecting to the community through exhibitions and public programs. Throughout the year, PAMA offers changing exhibitions, workshops, artist and curator talks, drop in tours and activities for all ages. PAMA is located in 4 heritage buildings including the Historic Peel Courthouse and Jail at 9 Wellington St. E., in downtown Brampton. Visit pama.peelregion.ca to learn more.
The museum is dedicated to preserving the history of rural education, the heritage of the surrounding community, and the memory of poet Wilson Pugsley MacDonald. Step into a classroom of 1925… when the Union Jack waved over the schoolhouse… classes started with “God Save the King”… and penmanship was practiced using straight pens and black ink. Lyric poet Wilson Pugsley MacDonald (1880 – 1967) was born in nearby Cheapside and published works, including “Out of the Wilderness”, and a “Flagon of Beauty.”